Meet Our Faculty


Alicia Vargas, Ph.D.

Dean of PLTS; Associate Professor of Multicultural and Contextual Studies

Julián González, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor of Old Testament

Shauna K. Hannan, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Homiletics

Carol Jacobson, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Practical Theology; Diaconal Ministry Program Director

Luis Menendez-Antuna, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor of New Testament

Cynthia Diane Moe-Lobeda, Ph.D.

Professor of Theological and Social Ethics

Moses Paul Peter Penumaka, Th.D.

Director, Theological Education for Emerging Ministries [TEEM]

Kirsi I. Stjerna, Ph.D.

First Lutheran, Los Angeles/Southwest California Synod Professor of Lutheran History and Theology

Leslie Veen, D.Min.

Director of Contextual Education


Walter Gary Pence, Ph.D.

Instructor of Biblical Greek; Professor Emeritus of Pastoral Theology

Ted Peters, Ph.D.

Distinguished Research Professor of Systematic Theology

Kyle Schiefelbein-Guerrero, Ph.D.

Senior Adjunct of Liturgical and Theological Studies

GTU Faculty

PLTS students take a wide range of courses from faculty members of the Graduate Theological Union and its member schools and centers.

GTU Core-Doctoral and Consortial Faculty

Emeriti Faculty
  • Michael Aune
    Professor Emeritus of Liturgical and Historical Studies
  • Everett Roy Kalin
    Christ Seminary-Seminex Professor Emeritus of New Testament
  • Ted Peters
    Distinguished Research Professor of Systematic Theology
  • Walter Martin Stuhr
    Professor Emeritus of Ethics
  • Edmond Yee
    Professor Emeritus of Asian Studies