Meet Our Faculty

Faculty

Alicia Vargas, Ph.D.

Dean of PLTS; Associate Professor of Multicultural and Contextual Studies
avargas@plts.edu

Julián González, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor of Old Testament
jgonzalez@cdsp.edu

Shauna K. Hannan, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Homiletics
shannan@plts.edu

Carol Jacobson, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Practical Theology; Diaconal Ministry Program Director
cjacobson@plts.edu

Luis Menendez-Antuna, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor of New Testament
lmenendezantuna@plts.edu

Cynthia Diane Moe-Lobeda, Ph.D.

Professor of Theological and Social Ethics
cmoelobeda@plts.edu

Moses Paul Peter Penumaka, Th.D.

Director, Theological Education for Emerging Ministries [TEEM]
mpenumaka@plts.edu

Kirsi I. Stjerna, Ph.D.

First Lutheran, Los Angeles/Southwest California Synod Professor of Lutheran History and Theology
kstjerna@plts.edu

Leslie Veen, D.Min.

Director of Contextual Education
lveen@plts.edu

Adjunct

Christopher Evans, Ph.D.

Associate Dean for Student Formation
cevans@plts.edu

Katia Moles

Instructor of Research and Writing
kmoles@callutheran.edu

Walter Gary Pence, Ph.D.

Instructor of Biblical Greek; Professor Emeritus of Pastoral Theology
gpence@plts.edu

Ted Peters, Ph.D.

Distinguished Research Professor of Systematic Theology
tedfpeters@gmail.com

Kyle Schiefelbein-Guerrero, Ph.D.

Senior Adjunct of Liturgical and Theological Studies
kschiefelbein@plts.edu

Mary Stein-Webber, M.Div., M.S., MFT

Instructor of Pastoral Care and Leadership
msteinwebber@callutheran.edu

GTU Faculty

PLTS students take a wide range of courses from faculty members of the Graduate Theological Union and its member schools and centers.

GTU Core-Doctoral and Consortial Faculty

Emeriti Faculty
  • Michael Aune
    Professor Emeritus of Liturgical and Historical Studies
  • Everett Roy Kalin
    Christ Seminary-Seminex Professor Emeritus of New Testament
  • Walter Martin Stuhr
    Professor Emeritus of Ethics
  • Edmond Yee
    Professor Emeritus of Asian Studies
©