Meet Our Faculty

Core Faculty

Alicia Vargas, Ph.D.

Dean of PLTS; Associate Professor of Multicultural and Contextual Studies
avargas@plts.edu

Adam F. Braun, Ph.D.

Lecturer in New Testament and Theology
abraun@plts.edu

Julián González, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor of Old Testament
jgonzalez@cdsp.edu

Katy Grindberg, M.A.

Rev. Katy Grindberg, Director of Contextual Education and Lecturer
kgrindberg@plts.edu

Cynthia Diane Moe-Lobeda, Ph.D.

Professor of Theological and Social Ethics
cmoelobeda@plts.edu

Moses Paul Peter Penumaka, Th.D.

Director, Theological Education for Emerging Ministries [TEEM]
mpenumaka@plts.edu

Kirsi I. Stjerna, Ph.D.

First Lutheran, Los Angeles/Southwest California Synod Professor of Lutheran History and Theology
kstjerna@plts.edu

Leslie Veen, D.Min.

Associate Dean for Academic and Student Affairs
lveen@plts.edu

Adjunct Faculty
GTU Faculty

PLTS students take a wide range of courses from faculty members of the Graduate Theological Union and its member schools and centers.

GTU Core-Doctoral and Consortial Faculty

Emeriti Faculty
  • Michael Aune
    Professor Emeritus of Liturgical and Historical Studies
  • David Balch
    Professor of New Testament
  • Everett Roy Kalin
    Christ Seminary-Seminex Professor Emeritus of New Testament
  • Ted Peters
    Distinguished Research Professor of Systematic Theology
  • Walter Gary Pence, Ph.D.
    Instructor of Biblical Greek; Professor Emeritus of Pastoral Theology
  • Walter Martin Stuhr
    Professor Emeritus of Ethics
  • Edmond Yee
    Professor Emeritus of Asian Studies
©